Sr National Basketball Champ

Punjab teams claim opening day victories

Mysuru, 10th January 2016: After the star-studded inauguration ceremony on the evening of Day 1 of the 66th Senior National Basketball Championship, the home teams took to the court before a packed Mysore court. The Karnataka women’s team was the first to play against Punjab. After establishing an early lead by running their offense through centre Harjeet Kaur, Punjab was sitting pretty as the hosts started their comeback. Bhandavya Mahesha, the Karnataka team captain and one of the team’s youngest players displayed tremendous offense with lights-out shooting along with the help of her teammate Lopamudra. Karnataka were able to convert defense to offense with Lopamudra’s 9 steals leading to transition buckets and were able to reduce the margin to 4 points at the end of the third quarter. However, Punjab held off the Karnataka comeback towards the end of the game managing to pull off a 4-point victory.

The men’s game between hosts Karnataka and Punjab also turned out to be an exciting match with the scores remaining close till the last minute. Punjab’s point guard TJ Sahi orchestrated his team’s offense well finding easy buckets for his teammates. But Punjab centre Gagandeep Singh was the real star of the game securing a major double-double with 27 points and 12 rebounds. Karnataka’s international forward Arvind Arumugam fought valiantly till the end, but the game got out of Karnataka’s hands in the fourth quarter.

In the Level 2 games, the Chandigarh teams secured victories in their opening games defeating both the Goa teams respectively, while the Uttar Pradesh men defeated the Arunachal Pradesh team.

Railways women triumph while Tamil Nadu men remain undefeated

The morning of Day 2 of the championship witnessed some high-flying action. In the women’s section, one of the tournament favourites, Indian Railways registered an easy win against Punjab. Forward Rajapriyadarshini top scored for the Railways with 15 points in a balanced team scoring effort. In the men’s section, Kerala came up victorious with leading scorer R Manoj pouring in 19 points and his team taking an easy win against Telangana.

Favourites in the men section, Tamil Nadu made a huge statement in the tournament by overcoming the dangerous Services team. Aravind Annadurai, who is fast becoming a rising star in the Indian basketball circuit, led the team with 24 points, 6 rebounds and 3 assists. Services international player Narendar Grewal put up 16 points in a losing effort.

Later, defending champions Chhattisgarh held off the threat from Madhya Pradesh led by 2015 MVP Poonam Chaturvedi, who put up the highest individual score of the tournament thus far with 52 points. The undersized Madhya Pradesh team had no answer for the Chhattisgarh centre who was the true difference in the game. Sakshi Pandey put in 18 points in the Madhya Pradesh loss.

In the level 2 men’s section today, Maharashtra went head to head against Uttar Pradesh for a spot in the pre quarterfinals. Composed play from Maharashtra resulted in them being able to come back from behind to steal a victory against Uttar Pradesh. Edwin Irvin top scored with 18 points in the Maharashtra win. In other level 2 games, Chhattisgarh men handily defeated Odisha, while Rajasthan men got the better of Himachal Pradesh. In the women’s level 2 games, Andhra Pradesh and West Bengal registered one-sided victories against Tripura and Gujarat respectively.

Results from evening session of Day 1

Level 1:


Punjab (Harjeet Kaur 21, Indu Kumari 11, Harpreet Kaur 10, Kirandeep Kaur 10) bt Karnataka (Bhandavya HM 21, Lopamudra J 18)68-64 [19-02, 18-19, 16-23, 15-20]


Punjab (Gagandeep Singh 27, Talwinder Singh Sahi 21, Guvinder Gill Singh 18) bt Karnataka (Aravind A 25, Anil Kumar BK 24, Sashi Kumar 12) 89-76 [19-19, 21-19, 24-21, 25-17]

Level 2:


Haryana (Sanju 13, Kafiu Jyoti 7) bt Andhra Pradesh (U Naga Durga 10) 50-36 [10-13, 17-07, 14-06, 09-10]

Chandigarh (Sweety Rani 17, Pooja 10, Neha 7) bt Goa (Shaheen Rebello 12) 54-32 [5-19, 11-4, 20-01, 18-8]


Uttar Pradesh (A Anand Singh 14, Bobby 6, Abhishek 6) bt Arunachal Pradesh (Ankit 6) 61-36 [22-12, 10-08, 13-05, 16-11]

Chandigarh (Kuldeep Singh 22, Raul Bhadwaj 17) bt Goa (Marshal Shandu 15, Charles D Souza 13, Shawn Sonares 9) 85-56 [24-16, 14-10, 30-22, 17-08]

Results from Day 2 up to 1 pm

Level 1:


Indian Railways (R Raja Priya 15, Sitamani 13) bt Punjab (Indu Kumari 6) 72-26 [26-05, 20-4, 14-15, 12-2]

Chhattisgarh (Poonam Chaturvedi 52, Sangeeta 8) bt Madhya Pradesh (Sakshi Pandey 18, Ringhen 15, Nimdo Bhutia 10) 84-60 (19-14, 25-21, 22-18, 18-7)


Kerala (R Manoj 19, Philip Basil 12, Pereira Eduric 12, Wilson Monish 11) bt  Telangana (Boom M David 13, Yadav S Nihal 10, Reddy Ambati 8) 81-58 [19-14,24-16, 24-12, 14-16]

Tamil Nadu (Aravind A 24, Rikin 15, Pratham Singh 11, Prasanna 11) bt Services (Narendar 16, Setu SM 14, Ashutosh Rai 10)

Level 2:


Andhra Pradesh (Nikita 10) bt Tripura (Chesta 6) 32-12 (22-3, 6-2, 1-3, 3-4)

Bihar (Shravanthi 32, Kritika 8) bt Puducherry (Manjula 7) 47-29 (11-10, 17-9, 16-8, 3-2)

West Bengal (Anjana 16, Salma Devi 15) bt Gujarat (Ria Dubey 4, Nidhi 4) 64-12 (13-10, 21-0, 15-2, 15-0)


Gujarat (Vinay 19, Harpal 10) bt Jammu & Kashmir (Shubam 13) 66-43 [24-16, 16-11, 13-08, 13-08]

Maharastra (Edwin Irvin 18, Loveneet Ajwal 16, Pradeep Chavan 16) bt Uttar Pradesh (Ankur Anand Singh 27, Ashutosh Ku Singh 15, Bobby Singh 14) 88-80 [16-20, 25-19, 22-16, 25-25]

Madhya Pradesh (Harindra 10) bt Jharkhand (Alen 13) 51-38 (18-2, 19-12, 11-14, 3-10)

Puducherry (Vinod 32, Harikrishna 11) bt Goa (Shawn Soares 19, Charles D’Souza 8) 71-64 (22-16, 20-5, 11-28, 18-15)

Chhattisgarh (Kiran 23, Dinesh 12) bt Odisha (Sahid Khan 10) 73-48 (30-16, 20-15, 13-10, 10-7)

Rajasthan (Kamran 20, Dinesh 17, Govind 13) bt Himachal Pradesh (Deepak 21, Anoop 16, Ashwani 9) 84-59 (26-10, 20-14, 17-27, 21-8)

Bihar (Yogesh Kumar 18, Hemant Hooda 16) bt Mizoram (Vishesh 11) 69-38 (23-5, 12-11, 18-11, 16-11)

Published by Naresh Sagar

Mentor MSME, Motivator, Media Event Org, Management fiscal & Water management.Social Media branding,Internet broadcasters,Propunder of Indian Philosophy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: