Arise Steel 42nd Sub-Junior National Basketball Championship: Chhattisgarh girls clinch spot in final; Tamil Nadu girls to face Madhya Pradesh in semi-finals later today

Puducherry, 7th February 2016: Late last evening at the 42nd Sub-Junior National Basketball Championship, the Tamil Nadu girls clinched the final semi-final spot, defeating the Uttar Pradesh side by 16 points. Pavitra Sree led the charge yet again for Tamil Nadu scoring a game-high 25 points. Tamil Nadu led throughout the game and cruised to a 60-44 victory. They will face the Madhya Pradesh girls today evening for a place in the final.

After the classification games today morning, the first semi-final began post lunch at the Rajiv Gandhi Indoor Stadium between the Chhattisgarh and Maharashtra girls. The first half belonged to Chhattisgarh as they built a lead going into halftime. But the Maharashtra girls came out firing on all cylinders in the second half, displaying a dominant third quarter led by their offensive star Shruti Bhosale (16 points), who drove to the basket with success. After losing the lead momentarily, Chhattisgarh fought their way back outscoring Maharashtra by 11 points in the fourth quarter. Elijabet Ekka put up yet another MVP-worthy performance with 30 points, leading her team to the 66-61 victory. Chhattisgarh girls have sealed a spot in the final of the sub-junior nationals for the third year in a row.

The loser knockout finals also took place today morning with Punjab winning in the girls’ category beating Chandigarh and West Bengal winning the boys’ category defeating Punjab.

Results from Day 6 (7-2-16) up to 3 pm



  1. Chhattisgarh (Elijabet Ekka 30, Nagmani 9) bt Maharashtra (Shruti Bhosale 16, Purvi 9) 66-61 (21-12, 11-12, 8-22, 26-15)

Classification for 5th, 6th, 7th and 8th places:

  1. Uttar Pradesh (Chaitali 15, Tripti 10) bt Kerala (Bowri 11, Arunima 8) 42-34 (9-7, 6-9, 11-3, 16-15)
  2. Karnataka (Reshma Rianna 12, Saliya Mulla 10) bt Haryana (Ritika 12) 46-30 (8-10, 20-16, 12-2, 6-2)

9th and 10th place classification:

  1. Rajasthan (Ritvika 9) bt Telangana (Lasya 10) 39-27 (8-4, 10-1, 6-8, 15-14)

Loser Knockout Final:

  1. Punjab (Sukhmandeep 19) bt Chandigarh (Prachi Bhatia 6) 49-22 (15-4, 18-4, 9-5, 7-9)


Classification for 5th, 6th, 7th and 8th places:

  1. Andhra Pradesh (A. Sai Pawan Kumar 34, P. Venkata Raju 16) bt Haryana (Gaurav Sheoran 22, Hardeep 16) 77-75 (16-20, 18-21, 21-16, 22-18)
  2. Maharashtra (Raza Shaikh 21, Pritish 18) bt Odisha (Tulu 10, Brahmanand 8) 62-51 (14-14, 8-11, 22-15, 18-12)

9th and 10th place classification:

  1. Kerala (Jerom Prince George 29) bt Karnataka (Mas Sriram 10) 62-57 (14-5, 9-12, 11-25, 28-15)

Loser Knockout Final:

  1. West Bengal (Rohit Kumar 14, Sumit Shaw 15) bt Punjab (Eknoor Singh 11) 55-48 (13-10, 12-12, 13-12, 17-14)

Results from Day 5 (6-2-16) after 7 pm


  1. Quarterfinal: Tamil Nadu (Pavitra Sree 25, J. Srivarshini 8) bt Uttar Pradesh (D. Kapoor 10, Harshita C. 9) 60-44 (19-8, 6-8, 15-11, 20-17)

About the 42nd Sub-Junior National Basketball Championship

The 42nd Sub-Junior National Basketball Championship is being organised in Puducherry from the 2nd to the 8th of February 2016 at the Indira Gandhi Sports Complex. There are two indoor courts inside the complex, named Rajiv Gandhi Indoor Stadium, along with one outdoor court in the complex dedicated to the tournament. This year’s event is being organised by the Puducherry Basketball Association under the aegis of the Basketball Federation of India. The Sub-Junior Nationals is an annual national tournament for U-14 boys’ and girls’ teams from states across India. This year’s tournament is witnessing the participation of 23 boys’ teams and 21 girls’ teams. Arise Steel is the main sponsor for the tournament.

The 41st Sub-Junior Nationals were conducted in Nashik, Maharashtra, where the Kerala girls and the Madhya Pradesh boys emerged victorious clinching the gold medals. Chhattisgarh girls and boys were the second placed teams. The 2013 version tournament was conducted in Patna, Bihar. The Chhattisgarh teams won both the boys and the girls category last year, while the Madhya Pradesh boys and the Tamil Nadu girls finished runners-up respectively.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s