Hung Assembly in Goa

Goa, no party has secured majority in the 40-member State Assembly. Congress has emerged as the largest single party with 15 seats closely followed by ruling BJP with 12.

BJP is leading in two seats and Congress in one. Independents and others have won 10 seats.

Speaking at a press conference at the party headquarters in Goa, Parrikar said: “It’s a fractured mandate, let us see what happens. We will wait for independent parties to decide.”

Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar has lost Mandrem seat. Former Chief Minister Pratap Singh Rane of the Congress has been elected from Poriem constituency.

He defeated BJP’s Vishwajit Krishnarao Rane. Former Chief Minister and present State President of Congress Party Luizinho Faleiro has won from Navelim constituency. Another former Chief Minister and Congress leader Digambar Kamat has retained Margao seat. From Mapusa, Deputy Chief Minister, Francis D’souza of BJP has won.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s