Myanmar to be welcomed as the seventh member of the SASEC programme

The Union Minister of Finance Shri Arun Jaitley will chair the South Asia Subregional Economic Cooperation (SASEC) Finance Ministers’ Meeting in Shahjehan Hall, Taj Palace Hotel, New Delhi on April 03, 2017 at 10:15 AM. The meeting will be attended by the seven Finance Ministers from Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Myanmar, Nepal and Sri Lanka apart from officials from these countries and the Asian Development Bank (ADB).

As a part of the SASEC initiative, the member countries have come up with SASEC Vision for the economic growth of the sub-region, which will be launched by Union Minister of Finance of India during the meeting. It will be followed by consideration of the Joint Ministerial statement.

The event will be a unique opportunity for the member countries to discuss and exchange ideas and strive to foster better cooperation in the sub-region. Myanmar has joined the SASEC programme as its seventh member and will be officially welcomed during the event.

Shri Shaktikanta Das, Secretary Department of Economic Affairs, Ministry of Finance of India, will deliver the welcome address at the event. The Asian Development Bank (ADB) is supporting SASEC in this endeavor. The Vice President of ADB will also address the gathering on this occasion.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s