EC directs FIR against TTV Dinakaran, CM Palaniswami & others

Election Commission has directed registration of FIR against AIADMK leader TTV Dinakaran, Tamil Nadu Chief Minister EK Palaniswami, State Health Minister C Vijayabaskar and others in connection with the RK Nagar bypoll bribery case. According to a news agency report, the Commission’s direction came in response to an RTI query demanding probe into allegations of money distributed to voters for bypoll to the Assembly seat on 12th April. The incident came to light after a video went viral.
In a raid at AIADMK (Amma) faction leader Vijayabaskar’s residence, I-T officials had seized documents which showed that close to 90 crore rupees was distributed to voters in R K Nagar constituency. The Amma faction had fielded TTV Dhinakaran as its candidate in the by-election. Allegedly, the documents also pointed to seven senior AIADMK leader, including Chief Minister Palaniswami, for distribution of cash to voters . Following this, the Election Commission had called off the bypoll.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s