Indian women begin William Jones Cup with a loss to New Zealand


  • The Indian women’s basketball team opened its William Jones campaign earlier today with a 52-75 loss to New Zealand.
  • The top performers for the Indian team were captain Anitha Paul Durai with 15 points, and R Rajapriyadharshini with 8 rebounds, while Micaela Cocks led New Zealand with 21 points.
  • Next up, the Indian women play Japan on Thursday, 6th July at 1500 hrs CST (1230 IST).


Bengaluru, 5th July 2017:  The Indian women’s basketball team has begun its 39th William Jones Cup International Basketball Tournament campaign with a 52-75 loss to New Zealand. The Indian women, seeking valuable exposure before the FIBA Women’s Asia Cup later this month, were hoping for a positive start. But their opponents, the “Tall Ferns” raced to a 9 point lead at the first quarter, and extended it to 16 points by half time.


The New Zealanders were led by the scoring of Micaela Cocks with 21 points, supported by Chevannah Paalvast and Jillian Harmon who dropped 15 and 11 points respectively. The “Tall Ferns” lived up to their moniker, out-rebounding the Indian team 43-31.


In contrast, the Indian women shot 42% from the field, and will definitely look to improve from beyond the arc (6/21) and the free throw line (2/7). This being their first competitive outing in months, the Indian women’s 24 turnovers can be overlooked, provided they to do a better job of protecting the ball in coming matches. The top performers for the Indian team were captain Anitha Paul Durai with 15 points, and R Rajapriyadharshini with 8 rebounds, while veteran shooting guard Raspreet Sidhu chipped in with 11.


Next up, the Indian women play Japan on 6th July at 1500 hrs CST (1230 IST).


New Zealand (Micaela Cocks 21 pts, Chevannah Paalvast 15 pts, Jillian Harmon 11 pts) bt India (Anitha Paul Durai 15 pts, Raspreet Sidhu 11 pts, R Rajapriyadharshini 8 reb) 75–52 [24 – 15, 18 – 11, 13 – 9, 20 – 17]

About the William Jones Cup

The William Jones Cup is a basketball tournament that has been held annually in Taipei since 1977. The tournament was named in honor of Renato William Jones, who was one of the founders of the International Basketball Federation (FIBA). One team represents each country, and that team could be the national team, a professional club, or a college team. The tournament will be played in a single round-robin format, and the final points tally will determine the placing of the teams. This is the 39th edition of the tournament, and all games are being played at the Changhua Gymnasium, Changhua County, Chinese Taipei. Last year, the South Korean team took the gold in the women’s tournament, while Japan and Chinese Taipei A finished second and third respectively.


Official Tournament website:

About Basketball Federation of India

The Basketball Federation of India or BFI is the governing and controlling body of basketball in India, and is responsible for the development and promotion of the sport at all levels. BFI has been involved in conducting camps, clinics, events, and training sessions at its academies for the development of basketball. BFI came into being in 1935 and took complete control over Indian basketball in 1950. Prior to that time, the Indian Olympic Association handled the conduct of Indian basketball championships. Since 1950, the BFI has been conducting various such championships, from the grassroots to senior team participation in international tournaments. In addition, the BFI has been responsible for the establishment of strong sub-junior and junior level programs. The BFI has to its credit produced several international players of repute, among them 17 have been bestowed with the honour of Arjuna Awards. Earlier in June 2015, 19-year-old Satnam Singh Bhamara made history by becoming the first Indian national to be drafted by an NBA team, when he was selected by the Dallas Mavericks. More information at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s