Ram Nath Kovind to be sworn in as 14th President of India

President elect Ram Nath Kovind will be administered oath of office by Chief Justice of India on Tuesday in a special function at the Central hall of Parliament. NDA candidate Kovind was elected as the 14th President of India yesterday after securing victory over opposition Meira Kumar. He got 2,930 votes valued 7,02,044 and Ms. Kumar got 1,844 votes valued 3,67,314.

Addressing media after his victory at his residence in Delhi, the President elect said, his elevation to the highest office is a message for the people who work with honesty. Mr. Kovind said, he will represent the working class and poor sections of society in the Rashtrapati Bhavan. Mr. Kovind thanked everyone who supported him and also the opposition candidate Meira Kumar.

Congratulatory messages are pouring in from home and abroad. Besides President Pranab Mukherjee, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, and Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan several Union Ministers and many prominent leaders across political spectrum congratulated Mr. Kovind on being elected for the top constitutional post. Extending heartiest congratulations Mr. Pranab Mukherjee in a tweet expressed the hope that Mr. Kovind will lead India to the path of democracy, stability and prosperity.

In a series of tweets, the Prime Minister extended his best wishes to the President designate for a fruitful and inspiring tenure. He also expressed happiness on the extensive support for Mr Kovind among MPs and across various states. Leaders and Chief Ministers cutting across party lines congratulated the President elect. BJP President Amit Shah said the election of Mr. Kovind is a victory for the poor, downtrodden and marginalised.

Expressing her best wishes, Congress President Sonia Gandhi said, the post of President enjoys a unique position as defender and protector of the Constitution, upholder of democratic traditions and as supreme commander of the Indian Armed Forces. CPI(M) General Secretary Sitraram Yechury, SP Chief Akhilesh Yadav, NCP President Sharad Pawar, LJP Chief Ram Vials Paswan also extended their greetings.

Several Union Ministers including Arun Jaitley, Rajnath Singh, Sushma Swaraj, Smriti Irani, Nitin Gadkari, Col Rajyavardhan Rathore among others and Chief Ministers of several states also congratulated Mr Kovind. AIR correspondent reports that Mr. Kovind, a dalit BJP leader has been known for his organisational skill.

The United States has congratulated president-elect Ram Nath Kovind on his victory. State Department Spokesperson Heather Nauert told reporters at a news conference that they look forward to working with Mr Kovind on regional and global issues.

Nepalese Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba also congratulated Mr. Kovind on being elected as the President. In a tweet, Mr Deuba said he feels honoured to extend his sincere congratulations to Mr Kovind. He also expressed deep desire to working closely with him to further strengthen multifaceted relations between Nepal and India.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s