Macron wins German European unity prize

French President Emmanuel Macron has been awarded a prestigious German prize for contributions to European unity in recognition of his “vision of a new Europe,” AP said. The International Charlemagne Prize is awarded annually by the city of Aachen, near the Belgian and Dutch borders. Previous winners include former US President Bill Clinton and Popes Francis and John Paul II. Friday’s statement cited Macron’s “vision of a new Europe and of the re-establishment of the European project, of a new European sovereignty.” It also said Macron’s election in May “proved once again that Europe is indeed capable of generating enthusiasm.” The prize ceremony is held in May in Aachen, from where the Holy Roman emperor Charlemagne once ruled a swath of western Europe.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s