Virat Kohli named ICC world cricketer of the year

Indian captain Virat Kohli has been named the world cricketer of the year at the ICC annual awards announced in Dubai today. Kohli reclaimed the award he first won in 2012. This is the second time in succession that an Indian has won the overall cricketer of the year award. Spinner Ravichandran Ashwin had claimed the honour last year.

Kohli also bagged the top honour for ODI players. This is the first instance since 2013 that the ODI Cricketer of the Year award has been won by a non-South African. Quinton de Kock received the accolade for 2016, with AB de Villiers winning it in 2014 and 2015.
Kohli was also named captain of the ICC Test and ODI teams of the year.

In the qualification period from 21st September, 2016 to the end of last year, Kohli amassed 2,203 Test runs at an average of 77.80 including eight centuries. In ODIs, he scored 1,818 runs including seven centuries at an average of 82.63. In Twenty-20s, Kohli made 299 runs at a strike rate of 153.

Australian captain Steve Smith claimed the Test Player of the Year honour. He had scored 1,875 runs in 16 matches at an average of 78.12, with eight hundreds and five 50s.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s