US to exempt EU, 6 states from metal tariffs

EU and six other economies will be exempt at least temporarily from the steel and aluminum tariffs US President Donald Trump has imposed, a top US trade official said Thursday. US Trade Representative Robert Lighthizer told a Senate committee that Trump authorized a “pause” in the imposition of the tariffs, which take effect Friday, AFP reported. Talks are underway to find a more permanent solution. Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, and South Korea will also be exempt from the penalties of 25 percent on steel imports and 10 percent on aluminum, along with the EU, Lighthizer said.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s