Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi

Wednesday, 16 May 2018 at 11:00 hrs




Shri Ram Nath Kovind, Hon’ble President of India will confer National Geoscience Awards – 2017 (NGA-2017) on 16th May 2018 at 1100 hrs, at the Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi. In the said event, Shri Narendra Singh Tomar, Hon’ble Minister of Rural development, Panchayati Raj and Mines, Shri Haribhai Parthibhai Chaudhary, Hon’ble Minister of State (Mines), Shri Anil Mukim, Secretary, Ministry of Mines, Shri N. Kutumba Rao, Director General, Geological Survey of India, senior officials of Ministry of Mines and other Central Ministries and Geoscientific organizations will be present.


The National Geoscience Awards, previously known as the National Mineral Awards, were instituted by the Ministry of Mines in 1966, to honour individuals and teams of scientists for their extraordinary achievements and outstanding contributions in fundamental and applied geosciences, mining and allied fields.


The awards carry cash prize and a certificate. Till date (i.e. up to NGA-2016), 11 awards of excellence, five young scientist awards and 760 awards have been conferred on geoscientists from various fields.


The National Geoscience Awards include one Young Scientist Award and 19 individual and / or team awards in 16 fields of geosciences.


This year, 11 awards will be conferred by Hon’ble President which includes 4 team awards and 7 individual awards on 16th May 2018, for their meritorious contributions in nine fields of geosciences.


There will be a group discussion amongst the earlier and current awardees on the challenges faced by geoscience in India.


The list of awardees of NGA- 2017 is annexed.



Published by Naresh Sagar

Mentor MSME, Motivator, Media Event Org, Management fiscal & Water management.Social Media branding,Internet broadcasters,Propunder of Indian Philosophy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: