Indian Wheelchair Cricket Premier League-2018

Inaugural Ceremony is on 20th June 2018

IWPL will be held on 21st to 24th June, 2018 in Dwarka, New Delhi-78

League of 15 overs matches among six teams

June 19, 2018, New Delhi: Dwarka City is organizing a unique, first-of-its-kind cricket tournament in the Dwarka sub city. This is the IWPL – Indian Wheelchair Premier League! Modelled on the immensely popular IPL, this too promises to attract cricket enthusiasts from Dwarka and beyond. This will be a four day para-sports event- from 20th to 24th June. Six teams will compete in this tournament. The league matches will be held at the Bal Bhavan International School, Sector-12.This will comprise of 15-overs each side matches. The finals, of course, will be more exciting

and gripping with teams battling with each other in a 20-20 over match.

There will be special friendly match between Delhi Police and wheelchair players on 20th June, 2018.

The 4- day tournament will witness the match of the six teams which are Gujarat Fighters, Delhi Superstars, Maharashtra Tigers, Uttar Pradesh Heroes, Uttarakhand Warriors and Chennai Super strong. The event in Delhi has been conceptualized on the lines of Indian Premier League and is aimed at providing a sports opportunity to people with disabilities.

According to Mukesh Sinha, the Convenor of the league, “This tournament will provide a platform to para- athletes to showcase their talent. We hope that Dwarka and Delhi people will come forward and support this noble cause”. Mukesh Sinha further informs that the teams has already been franchised by corporate as their CSR activities. Given the important message that this initiative is sending out, this tournament and its organisation has leading names as its patrons.This includes Kunal Gupta, Director- Bal Bhavan International School, V. P. Tandon, Director- Vandana International School, O P Khanduja- Business Head, DS Spiceco Pvt. Ltd., Surendra Kumar, Director- Kasturi Jewellers, Suresh Anand, Director- Pratham Group, Sanjay and SurajBhasin, Director Guruji Developers Pvt. Ltd.

Among the leading names taking part are Vinod Thakur, Niraj Yadav, Laxman Birhade are some of the noted players, who will participate in the league. Vinod Thakur is a renowned TV celebrity, a winner of India’s Got Talent and a finalist in Nach Baliye.

Wheelchair Talent Foundation is a non-profit organisation that is working towards the social welfare

of persons with disabilities. It has been actively involved in organizing various tournaments and championships for para-athletes. This tournament was the dream of Disabled Sporting Society, Agra (UP) India was set up on 9th May, 2007 which set up an Indian Cricket team for the physically challenged youth of India. The Six captains of the teams include Laxman Birhade of Gujarat Fighters, Ramesh Sartape of Maharashtra Tigers, Atul Srivastava of Uttar Pradesh Heroes, Rajendra Singh Dhami of Uttarakand Warriors, Farooq Ahmad of Chennai Team and Vinod Thakur of Delhi Superstars. The captains are quite ecstatic and full of enthusiasm.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s