17 sites in the country to be developed as Iconic Tourist Sites

The Minister of State for Tourism (I/C), Shri Alphons Kannanthanam lighting the lamp at the closing ceremony of P.N. Panicker 23rd National Reading Day-Reading Month Celebrations 2018, in New Delhi on July 23, 2018.

17 sites in the country to be developed as Iconic Tourist Sites: Shri K. J. Alphons

Posted On: 24 JUL 2018

Ministry of Tourism has identified 17 sites in 12 clusters in the country for development under Iconic Tourist Sites Development Project, pursuant to Budget Announcements of 2018-19. Following are the 17 sites: Uttar Pradesh- TajMahal & FatehpurSikri; Maharashtra- Ajanta & Ellora; Delhi- Humayun’s Tomb, Red Fort & QutubMinar; Goa- Colva beach; Rajasthan- Amer Fort; Gujarat- Somnath & Dholavira; Madhya Pradesh- Khajuraho; Karnataka- Hampi; Tamil Nadu- Mahabalipuram; Assam- Kaziranga; Kerala- Kumarakom; Bihar- Mahabodhi.

The Ministry shall be developing the above sites in a holistic manner with focus on issues concerning connectivity to the destination, better facilities/experience for the tourists at the site, skill development, involvement of local community, promotion & branding and by bringing in private investment.

The monuments taken up for development under the above mentioned project fall under the jurisdiction of Archaeological Survey of India (ASI) and State Archaeology Departments. The Ministry will carry out interventions at these monuments in collaboration with the ASI and State Government, and all development plans will have elements of universal accessibility, cleanliness at the monuments, use of Green Technology and enhanced security for the tourists.

This information was given by the Minister of State (I/C) for Tourism Shri. K. J. Alphons, in a written reply in Rajya Sabha today.

1200 permits (average) issued per day to the vehicles visiting Rohtang Pass: Tourism Minister

Posted On: 23 JUL 2018

In compliance with the directions of National Green Tribunal in OA No.237/2013, permits are issued online, through the dedicated portal to the vehicles visiting Rohtang Pass. Average number of 1200 permits are issued per day (excluding Tuesdays, being maintenance day) as informed by Government of Himachal Pradesh. The details are as given below-

1.         800 Permits per day – Petrol Vehicles.

2.         400 Permits per day – Diesel Vehicles.

3.         The permit portal opens at 10 AM and 4 PM daily.

4.         In addition to the above 1200 permits, 100 Special Permits per day are being issued as per the directions of the Hon’ble Tribunal. Out of this, 75 permits (vehicles of the state) & 25 permits (Intrastate vehicles coming to Kullu district) are issued.

5.         Any person can apply for the permit online by furnishing required details like registration number, type of vehicle and name of driver etc.

This information was given by Shri K. J. Alphons, Union Minister of State (I/C) for Tourism in a written reply in Lok Sabha today.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s