Nobel Prize in Physics & Medicine 2018

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobel Prize in Physics 2018 for groundbreaking inventions in the field of laser physics with one half to Arthur Ashkin for the optical tweezers and their application to biological systems and the other half jointly to Grard Mourou and Donna Strickland for their method of generating high-intensity, ultra-short optical pulses. Donna Strickland is the third female Nobel laureate in physics.

Two immunologists, James Allison of the US and Tasuku Honjo of Japan won the 2018 Nobel prize in medicine for discovery of a revolutionary approach to cancer treatment.

The Nobel Assembly today said, both the scientists were honoured for their discovery of cancer therapy by inhibition of negative immune regulation.

They will receive their prize at a formal ceremony in Stockholm on 10th December.

They will share the Nobel prize sum of about 1.01 million dollar. Allison, a professor at the University of Texas, and Honjo, a professor at Kyoto University, also have won the Tang Prize in 2014 for their research.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s