India votes General elections

Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora has appealed to voters to come out in large numbers to cast their votes in today’s polling so that the bedrock of democracy becomes even more strengthened  and robust. 

Polling has begun for the first phase of Lok Sabha elections. Voting is taking place for 91 Parliamentary constituencies spread over 18 states and two union territories in this phase. 

The voting time in most of the constituencies is from 7 AM to 6 PM. However, in Left-Wing extremism-affected areas and North Eastern States, the timings vary. 

Voting is taking place in all parliamentary constituencies of Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Andaman and Nicobar and Lakshadweep, and Uttarakhand. 

Polling is also progressing for some constituencies of  Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Maharashtra, Manipur, Odisha, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal.

Simultaneously voting is also taking place for single phase Assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh and for 28 of 147 seats in Odisha. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s