Final phase of Poll on Sunday

All arrangements have been put in place for the seventh the final phase of Lok Sabha elections.

59 constituencies, spread over 7 states and one union territory, will go to the polls tomorrow.

Voting in this phase will take place for 13 seats each in Uttar Pradesh and Punjab, nine in West Bengal, eight seats each in Bihar and Madhya Pradesh, all four constituencies of Himachal Pradesh; three in Jharkhand and the lone seat of Chandigarh.

Campaigning for 50 of the 59 seats going to the polls in this phase ended last evening.

For 9 constituencies of West Bengal, campaigning closed on Thursday night after the Election Commission curtailed it in the wake of violence during BJP President Amit Shah’s roadshow in Kolkata on Tuesday.

In West Bengal, the 9 Lok Sabha seats are Dum Dum, Jadavpur, Barasat, Basirhat, Joynagar, Mathurapur, Diamond Harbour, Kolkata South and Kolkata North. More than 1 crore 49 lakhs electorates are eligible to cast their franchise. Altogether 111 candidates are in the fray. More than 17 thousands of polling booths have been set up.

The1553184408244-1814392673 Kolkata correspondent reports that the Election Commission has made elaborate security arrangements to check violence during polling.

Prominent candidates in this phase include Prime Minister Narendra Modi, and union ministers – Manoj Sinha, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Harsimrat Kaur Badal and Hardeep Singh Puri.

The Fates of Kirron Kher, Sunny Deol and Ravi Kishan of the BJP, Sukhbir Badal of the SAD, Meira Kumar and Shatrughan Sinha of the Congress and Shibu Soren of the JMM will also be decided in this phase.

Polling, which begins at 7 AM, will end at 6 PM. Counting of votes for the Lok Sabha and four state assemblies of Odisha, Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim will be taken up on Thursday.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s