UNSC:Elect 5 Non Permanent Members

Will India take seat in the 193-member United Nations General Assembly votes on Wednesday for contenders to five non-permanent seats at the UN Security Council for 2021-22.

United Nations Security Council (UNSC) will elect five new non-permanent members to the council today. France took over the Presidency of the powerful 15-member Security Council for the month of June. The United Nations General Assembly last month adopted a decision to hold the Security Council Elections under new voting arrangements taking into account restrictions in place due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
India is a candidate for a non-permanent seat from the Asia-Pacific category for the 2021-22 term. Its victory is given since it is the sole candidate vying for the lone seat from the grouping. New Delhi’s candidature was unanimously endorsed by the 55-member Asia-Pacific grouping, including China and Pakistan, in June last year.  Each year the General Assembly elects five non-permanent members out of ten in total, for a two-year term.
The 10 non-permanent seats are distributed on a regional basis. This year, Canada, Ireland and Norway are vying for two seats in the Western Europe and Other countries category, Mexico is the only candidate for the one Latin America and Caribbean seat while Kenya and Djibouti will contest the seat available for the African group. Beginning in January 2021, the new members will serve a two-year term on the UNSC..

Published by Naresh Sagar

Mentor MSME, Motivator, Media Event Org, Management fiscal & Water management.Social Media branding,Internet broadcasters,Propunder of Indian Philosophy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: