NDA Retain Assam

BJP-led NDA retains power in Assam for 2nd consecutive term and Puducherry.

In Assam, BJP-led NDA has retained power for the second consecutive term. The NDA has secured 75 seats in the 126-member assembly. While BJP won 60 seats, its allies Asom Gana Parishad bagged 9 seats and UPPL 6 seats. Congress has won 29 seats and its ally AIUDF got 10 seats. Chief Minister and senior BJP leader won the Majuli seat by a margin of over 40 thousand votes. State BJP President Ranjit Kumar Dass, senior ministers Himanta Biswa Sarma, Chandra Mohan Patowary, Ranjit Dutta, Parimal Suklabaidya, Naba Doley and Speaker of the Assembly Hitendra Nath Goswami won the election. For Congress, legislators Rockibul Hussain, Rekibuddin Ahmed, Rupjyoti Kurmi re-elected to the assembly. Three senior leaders of Asom Gana Parishad Atul Bora, Keshab Mahanta and Phani Bhusan Choudhury won from their seats.

Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal has said that the success of the party in the state is the victory of the people of Assam. Talking to AIR News, the Chief Minister said that voters have endorsed the good works of the government during the last 5 years. He thanked Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah and other central ministers for all the supports.

 Mr. Sonowal also expressed gratitude to party functionaries including national President JP Nadda for all the help. He said that the party will work to make Assam self-reliant in the next 5 years and fulfill the promises the party made in its Sankalp Patra. Meanwhile, state Congress President Ripun Bora resigned from the post of party President following the Congress’ dismal performance in the state.

Puducherry, National Democratic Alliance (NDA) has secured majority in the 30-member assembly and all set to form a government. The NDA in Puducherry consists of All India NR Congress, BJP and AIADMK. All India NR Congress has won 10 seats and BJP bagged 6 seats.

On the other hand, the rival front member DMK has won 6 seats and Congress two seats. Six seats have gone to Independents. AIR correspondent reports that in the NDA Alliance, the NR Congress contested in 16 seats won in 10 constituencies and the BJP contested for 9 seats got 6 . On the other hand in the Secular Democratic Alliance, Congress contested in 15 places , but won in 2 seats.

The alliance partner DMK bagged 6 seats out of 13 . To the surprise , without any political identity 6 Independent candidates place a record in their respective Constituencies.

The BJP candidates Johnkumar, Namassivayam and Richards Johnkumar won the Kamaraj Nagar, Mannadipet and Nellithope constituencies, respectively. The NR Congress party leader Rengasamy won Thattanchavadi seat , at the same time he lost his second constituency Yanam, to an Independent candidate.
The AIADMK contested in 5 seats and losts all the seats.

Two former Congress Ministers Shajahan and Kandasamy also lost in this battle.

Published by Naresh Sagar

Mentor MSME, Motivator, Media Event Org, Management fiscal & Water management.Social Media branding,Internet broadcasters,Propunder of Indian Philosophy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: